Orientation.

Yesterday I had my nursing school orientation. It was a very loooong day. I woke up at 5:15 yesterday morning and didn’t get home until after 6:00. Yuck. Unfortunately, though, when school actually starts my days will pretty much always look like that, with the addition of the ALL the studying I’ll have to muster the energy to do.

I absolutely LOVE the atmosphere at GBCN. The professors already know my name. I introduced myself yesterday morning, and in the afternoon they called me by name. (I didn’t even have my name tag on. :) I spoke with several nurses from the senior class and all of them, while honest about nursing school being the hardest thing you’ll probably ever do in your life, were also so encouraging. I am already so blessed to have established relationships with some of them. I also recognized a girl from Berry who transferred there and is now a senior nurse. I loved getting to chat about Berry.

There were two moments yesterday that I think I could’ve passed out. The first being when I walked outside to see the lunch that was being served. It was boiled hamburgers and hotdogs. Umm…I don’t even like meat that much, but boiled meat is my least favorite way to eat it, ever. GROSS. Needless to say, I was so thankful for the bag of Multi-grain Cheerios in my purse. The second moment, that one was a doozy. When I had looked up the book list a few weeks ago, I learned that my books were going to cost around $800. Expensive, but “it could be worse,” I thought. Yeahhh…when I received the final book list yesterday when the professors were going over it, total bookstore cost was $1800. Thankfully, I can get all of my books on Amazon for $1400. Still jaw-dropping expensive. Telling my parents was a very interesting conversation.

“hey mom and dad, i got the total for my book costs today.”

“oh yeah, what’s the damage?”

“well, you might want to sit down. we’re talking over a thousand dollars.”

silence. that’s what i got for a good minute.

then we laughed, because what else can you do? oh yeah, that’s not including the $300 I spent on a stethoscope, my scrubs, white coat, or the $100 shoes I have yet to buy, the blood pressure cuff I still need to get and some other miscellaneous things. Aye-yai-yai.

Yesterday was wonderful. The next two years will be difficult, yet also rewarding.

I’m trying to soak up my free time in the next week or so, because after school begins free time won’t exist until December.

Here we go…

Leave a Reply

