what a weekend.

my favorite weekends are the ones where i get to see my dearest friends, cook something scrumptious, and God makes himself known in a huge way at church. friday, i got to visit and spend time with one of my mentors, and i must say, im so thankful for her. and her 6 month old baby. we ended up making a last minute decision and drove to the the dekalb farmer’s market.

HELLO, NEW EXPERIENCE?!?!?! it was wonderful. cultural. fresh. and i walked away with the best strawberries i’ve ever eaten. i’m not lying. my parents couldn’t believe it either when they tried them. i also bought some fresh, buffalo mozzarella. my guilty pleasure. it’s the one thing that even whole foods can’t provide to the specifications i could have gotten it in florence. and, that my friends, was the first thing i did when i got home. i cut a slice of it, salt and peppered it, gave it a splash of balsamic vinegar, and then i fainted. not really, but it was the best thing i’ve eaten in a while. creamy, melt in my mouth heaven. and please, don’t even get me started on the foccacia bread section. A, i’m not lying, i must have tried 4 or 5 different types of bread. but then i sadly walked away.

and that was only friday.

saturday was spent going to the dallas farmer’s markets that we have and getting some homegrown, organic veggies to have for the week. yummy. nothing beats a fresh tomato sandwich. yum. yum. yum.

and sunday, the best day of the weekend. i L-O-V-E my church. i love the leaders that God has put in place. and the volunteers. i knew ahead of time that we would be having an impromptu baptism offering. but nothing could have prepared me for what took place yesterday. God is magnificent. and huge. and almighty. my heart is overflowing with the goodness of Him. amen? amen.

and then sunday afternoon, i got to see probably two of my very favorite people in the whole world, annie and aj. annie and i have been planning for months to take some photos of my sister, greg, ty and myself. it was so fun (and hot and humid) and different to be in front of the camera. minus the heat, i couldn’t have asked for a better couple of hours than to see them and aj’s family. i can’t wait to see the pictures.

oh, sunday night! i cried. i cried a lot. LOST was great. at one point i thought to myself, why are you crying? because i’m not a “crier”. i rationalized that it was just sooo good. and my favorite show, which i’d invested 6 years into, was over. it ended quite differently than i expected, but i liked it.

ahh…what a weekend!! thank you, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

