a little background knowledge.

just in case you didn’t know where my blog title came from…i’m here to tell you today.

i wouldn’t say this song is one of my favorites, but it was definitely one of those songs that i needed to hear one day last summer. the lyrics were perfect for everything i was processing through. and so, i thought, that will be my heart’s cry from now on.

The Kingdom by Bethany Dillon

It tapped me on the shoulder today when I got home
I saw everything collecting dust
It made me hope there was something more
I pour over pages, desperate to find out why
The cripple at your table has what I’m longing to find

Teach me how to hum it
Because I don’t know the words yet

Help me see the light
I’m reaching through the fight
Yahweh, show me the Kingdom
Arms open wide
Death swallowed up by life
Yahweh, show me the Kingdom

Why are some women barren
While the wicked’s house is full
The stories never seem to end
Give me evidence I’m not alone
You said the weak would be lifted up
But maybe just not yet
So while I wait in this flesh and blood
I’ll learn to lean in

Help me see the light
I’m reaching through the fight
Yahweh, show me the Kingdom
Arms open wide
Death swallowed up by life
Yahweh, show me the Kingdom

just thought i would share my motto. because no one has the answers. no one, but the Lord,  can understand where each of us are. but thankfully we have a loving God who helps get us from one place to another, even when we don’t know where we’re going.

Leave a Reply

