the overwhelming, greatness of God.

i wasn’t going to blog today…i just wasn’t. but, i cant sleep and my heart is so overwhelmed with the goodness of God. my thoughts kept rolling over how great my life is and how much i truly take it for granted. i was reminded tonight just how much Jesus took on when he died for our sins. i felt a smidge of the weight he bore. my heart sank for the Father who had to turn his face away from His son. i was humbled and honored to be chosen, to be called “His”. i felt the rush of His love sweep over me.

it’s so easy to see the flaws in others, but especially ourselves. most of the time, we are our own worst critic. and most of the time, we invite satan to control that part of us. we allow ourselves to think we aren’t good enough, WE ARE! we allow ourselves to think about all the negatives, instead of focusing on the positives and allow ourselves to grow from our weaknesses. i have learned so much lately about how and why God chooses to shine light on our weaknesses and how it is for our benefit and His glory. when we struggle or face a difficult time, we grow. it forces us to rely on God, which in turn glorifies His name and strengthens our dependency on Him. that alone helps me to see the struggle i face with victorious strength. i know that going through it will only make me a better me for Him. then, the struggle doesn’t seem too heavy, and the yoke becomes easier. God is glorified. My soul is satisfied, with Him, and Him alone.

These songs really blessed my heart tonight with such conviction. May they bless you as well…

In Christ Alone

In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm
What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

In Christ alone, who took on flesh
Fullness of God in helpless babe
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones He came to save
‘Til on that cross as Jesus died
The wrath of God was satisfied
For every sin on Him was laid
Here in the death of Christ I live

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave He rose again
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me
For I am His and He is mine
Bought with the precious blood of Christ

No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny
No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand

‘til He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand

All I Need is You, Hillsong

Left my fear by the side of the road
Hear You speak
Won’t let go
Fall to my knees as I lift my hands to pray

Got every reason to be here again
Father’s love that draws me in
And all my eyes wanna see is a glimpse of You

All I need is You
All I need is You Lord
Is you Lord

One more day and it’s not the same
Your spirit calls my heart to sing
Drawn to the voice of my Saviour once again
Where would my soul be without Your Son
Gave His life to save the earth
Rest in the thought that You’re watching over me

All I need is You
All I need is You Lord
Is You Lord

You hold the universe
You hold everyone on earth

be encouraged.

p.s. if you don’t own a Hillsong cd…get one.

Leave a Reply

